Holy Name of Mary Parish
The Holy Name of Mary parish community is a vital Christian community with its life centred on the Sunday celebration of the Eucharist.
PHONE: 9817 5325
ADDRESS: 3a Mary St
The vision of the parish is to be a community that is: prayerful and worshipping, inclusive and welcoming, mutually responsible and caring, faith-informed, ecumenical, outreaching and missionary. There are two centres of worship; the church of the Holy Name of Mary (often referred to as Villa Maria) and the church of St Peter Chanel, Futuna St, Hunters Hill on the Woolwich Peninsula. It is here that the community gathers for the central act of worship, the Eucharist, and for the celebration of the other sacraments, as well as for personal prayer. The Holy Name of Mary Church is the heart and focus of the Hunters Hill Catholic community. The church was originally designed to be the chapel of the adjacent Villa Maria Monastery. The foundation stone was blessed by the Archbishop of Sydney and laid on 15 September, 1867. The church was a long time in the building. The first wedding took place in 1868 when the church still had no roof. Finally, it was formally blessed and opened by the Marist missionary Bishop Louis Elloy on 12 February 1871.The church is unique in Australia in its design and decoration. A common practice in those days was to use building plans borrowed from elsewhere. The Marists brought in plans from their place of origin, the rural areas around Lyon in South-East France. The stained glass and statuary are also French, as too is the beautiful marble altar which was installed in 1890.